The Grand Lodge of Arizona, Free & Accepted Masons

Grand Lodge of the Month - February 2015

The first Freemasons in the Arizona Territory came from California. 1866 saw the first lodge, Azatlan, chartered in Prescott. The Grand Lodge of California then chartered Tucson Lodge in 1879. In 1881 the Grand Lodge of New Mexico chartered White Mountain Lodge in Globe. On March 23, 1882 these three lodges met in Tucson and formed the Grand Lodge of Arizona by adopting a Grand Constitution and electing, then installing Grand Officers. The first grand Master of Arizona was Ansel Mellon Bragg (1831-1909). In 1888 Morris Goldwater, uncle to US Senator Barry M Goldwater, served as Grand Master.

Today, Grand Master Mike Manning presides over the Grand Lodge of Arizona comprised of 62 Lodges with a membership of more than 9,800 brothers. Arizona Freemasonry has had such prominent members as Gov. George W.P. Hunt (1859- 1934), US Sen. Barry M. Goldwater (1909 1998) and Rex R. Hutchens, Ph.D. (1942- Present).

Grand Lodge of Arizona, F&AM
2723 W. Northern Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85051-6624